The Miracle Fruit

I remember reading about the miracle fruit last year in the New York Times. The story captivated me immediately—a small fruit that, when chewed and swished around the mouth, confuses taste buds into thinking that bitter and sour things are sweet.

Today, I read another story about it, this time on CNN.com: Lemons taste like lemonade! Hot sauce tastes like honey! Goat cheese tastes like cheese cake!

Aside from the fact that I love food, I absolutely love the idea of trying weird things. In the New York Times story, they talk about people just going crazy with wanting to try things out before the berry’s effects wore off (it lasts about 30-90 minutes):

…guests became “literally like wild animals, tearing apart everything on the table.” “It was like no holds barred in terms of what people would try to eat, so they opened my fridge and started downing Tabasco and maple syrup,” he said.

So, I’m of course DYING to try this thing! Does anyone know of any tastings in the Boston area? Kyra, do you think that your next Dinner Club could revolve around this? I would totally make the schlep down from Boston!

3 Responses

  1. If you find out where you can get this I want to try too!!

  2. hey…my friends mike and nina who live in cambridge have had 2 miracleberry parties…i can try to see if they’re planning to have another one, but i doubt it bc they are both in grad school now. i didn’t get to attend either party, but i think they got birthright to pay for one of them!

  3. I’ve been dying to try this!!! If you hear of anywhere-I’d love to go!!!!! or if anyone tells you where you can buy it- I’d love to have a tasting party!!

Leave a Reply

