PO News & Flagstaff Cafe (Sheridan, WY)

I was in Sheridan, WY for business and needed a bite to eat that wasn’t fast food and wasn’t some fancy place. I was looking for reasonably priced, simple, tasty food. I happened to drive by the PO News & Flagstaff Cafe and notice the “free wifi” sign in the window, so I decided to check it out.

When I first walked in, I thought I’d made a mistake, because the front of the place looks like a tobacco store. You can buy fancy tobacco, cigars, etc there. (Also chocolate chip cookies. Unclear why, but I always support the sale of chocolate chip cookies, even in random locations.)

But through the PO News part is the Flagstaff cafe. It’s a seat-yourself kind of a place that has a family-run feel to it. There isn’t a huge quantity of seating (maybe for 20 or so), but the place was pretty full.

Folks were finishing up a late breakfast as we sat down to lunch. We looked pretty out of place in our suits; most of the other folks looked like locals. The waitress came quickly and asked what we wanted to drink. One of the options on the menu was “swamp water,” which turned out to be iced tea and lemonade. I got a BLT with avocado, choosing house-made miso soup on the side. My colleague got a patty melt with potato salad. Both were good.

The bill came to just over $20, and we were in and out in about 45 minutes or less. Mission quick/tasty/cheap lunch: Success!

Leave a Reply

