KitchenAid Mixer of My Dreams

I have always dreamed of having a KitchenAid Mixer. But I also recognize that I don’t need one. Which means I’m not simply going to run out and get it. But I want one!

So it was with great delight that I discovered recently that I have a lot of credit card points (aka free money). I have to use my personal credit card to front expenses when I travel for work, and over the last few years, it’s added up. Combine that with never having spent the points over the last 3-4 years, and I have quite a bit.  Sure, I could spend it on something practical, like cash and therefore my loans. But I think I’ve been fiscally responsible enough to blow it on something special.

Like a KitchenAid. Maybe even this beautiful red one:

kitchenaid

The 20-something foodie's equivalent of a sports car

But now that I am ready to buy one, I have no idea which one to buy! There are about a billion options– bowl size, professional versus not professional, tilt head versus bowl lift. I am overwhelmed.

Are there any KitchenAid users out there with advice?

I’ve decided to buy either from Amazon.com or Bed, Bath, & Beyond, because that’s where I can get the best deals.

Here is my budget:

  • If I go through Amazon, I have $250 to spend in points plus $30 in gift certificates, so $280.
  • If I go through Bed, Bath, & Beyond, I have $288 to spend in point, plus I can usually also find a 20% off one item coupon.

Obviously there is no need to spend all of my budget (leave some money for the accessories!), but I would like to invest in a model that is going to last me a while.

5 Responses

  1. I love my Kitchen Aid! It is the best gift I’ve ever received. I got the tilt head for 2 reasons, the first being that it takes up less counter/storage space than the bowl lift and second because that’s what my mom had and what I was used to. I know I didn’t get the smallest one, I got the next size up, I think. It has the stainless steel bowl and is tangerine orange!!!

  2. Dude. My KitchenAid rocks so hard. I made butter.

    The spousal unit got it at Kohl’s for $267. They give you $10 in gift cards for every $50 you spend…which is why we now have storage ottomans.

    I like my 5 qt. “artisan” one quite a bit, although I was originally interested in the 6 qt. bowl lift. I don’t think the smallest version is a good idea, because you’ll just end up going, “Oh, I could be making so much MORE frosting right now.”

  3. I did a bunch of mixer research when picking stuff for a wedding registry. I suggest getting a free trial membership to http://www.cooksillustrated.com– do your research their before the 2-week trial runs out and they start charging your card.

    To my surprise, I ended up opting to register for the Cuisinart SM-55 Stand Mixer. It seemed to have better reviews and more features that I actually needed than the classic KitchenAid styles. Haven’t gotten it yet (wedding’s not for a couple of months), so I can’t say whether it’s actually the right choice…

  4. I’ve got a Professional 6 (the precursor to the Professional 600), and I absolutely love it. (It’s a 6-quart, bowl-lift version.)

    Most 2-person households probably don’t need a 6-quart mixer, but we tend to make huge batches of things and freeze them.

  5. I don’t know if you’ve already gotten your mixer, but I had to put my two cents in:
    I won a Kitchen Aid mixer this summer as part of a blog giveaway (glorious good luck, considering that I was unemployed and therefore broke at the time), and it’s the model that you posted a picture of. I love love love it, especially because it was free, but if I were to buy one of my own, I would go with one of the bowl lift models. Those are my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

